Help Red get better at Art!

• Welcome to "The New" Wrestling Smarks Forum!

I see that you are not currently registered on our forum. It only takes a second, and you can even login with your Facebook! If you would like to register now, pease click here: Register

Once registered please introduce yourself in our introduction thread which can be found here: Introduction Board

RedDwarfTechy

WWEF's Resident Hologram
Reaction score
Salutations non-hologramic mutants.

With the new year coming up, I am doing something I haven't done. Ever.

I'm making a new year's resolution. And it's 2 parter. One is to make sure I get on here every day somehow, and two is work towards becoming a half decent digital artist.

Now let me be clear, I am NO artist. I can't draw a stickman properly but what I do enjoy doing is image manipulation using GIMP (it's like free photoshop).

So here's where you guys come in, I want to keep doing stuff on GIMP, especially do things like turning photographs (portraits) into 'paintings / sketch'. It's something I really want to get good at but I've just started so it will take a lot of practice and hair pulling.

I'm willing to sacrifice my time and hair but thought instead of doing it with random pictures online, I can do it for people that would a) appreciate it or b) hate it and tell me why.

So if you have a pic (preferably a portrait shot as I am just starting out in this type) of you, a family member or cats *cough* snake *cough* you want to turn into 'digital art', you can post it here / PM it to me and I'll get right on it.

Some notes:
---------
* I'm terrible at this, and such the results will most probably be utter crap. At least at the start. So please don't expect amazing stuff. I will give it my all though!

* I would share the artwork (and the original IF you're okay with it) on my social channels like twitter/insta/tumblr(lol)/dA and so on.