• Welcome to "The New" Wrestling Smarks Forum!

I see that you are not currently registered on our forum. It only takes a second, and you can even login with your Facebook! If you would like to register now, pease click here: Register

Once registered please introduce yourself in our introduction thread which can be found here: Introduction Board

What keeps you watching?

Diablo

I've been a fan of professional wrestling since October 2003..it wasn't the normal story of picking it up during the Attitude Era and loving Stone Cold Steve Austin and The Rock. Rather, when I turned on UPN on a Thursday night I was extremely entertained by Los Guerreros taking on The Bashams(Whom I believed were male strippers with Shaniqua...hey, I was a clueless 12 year old).

I was inclined to like wrestlers like Benoit, Guerrero, Edge and Cena in 2004 because I saw them as the underdogs. With all but Cena gone, I often find myself asking: What keeps me watching professional wrestling, and more specifically WWE?

I don't really think it's an easy question to answer. I think it's partly out of habit, the hope that something extremely exciting will happen and I'll be transformed into the huge fan I was as a 13 year old rooting for Shawn Michaels in a Last Man Standing match against Triple H. The other part is me not wanting to give up on the product in hopes that another "boom" period comes around. Having missed the Attitude Era, I'd love to experience another period in which there is a cut throat competition between two companies.

At this stage in the game I feel that the current format for Monday Night Raw and professional wrestling shows in general are outdated and could use some work. It's tiring to see an opening promo, match, divas match, funny backstage segment...I'm not exactly sure what they could do to spice it up, but I'm waiting for the day that a few new elements are mixed in with those that produce consistent results.