ONE FC: Eddie Ng, Hong Kong's Top MMA Fighter Talks About Starting Out Self-Taught in

• Welcome to "The New" Wrestling Smarks Forum!

I see that you are not currently registered on our forum. It only takes a second, and you can even login with your Facebook! If you would like to register now, pease click here: Register

Once registered please introduce yourself in our introduction thread which can be found here: Introduction Board

WrestlingSmarks News

Reaction score
Eddie_20Ng_20web_large.png
The MMA scene in Hong Kong is starting to develop, with Legend FC starting the charge by running several quality shows in the region. In what is considered as a coup by some insiders, Eddie Ng, one of the brightest prospects representing Hong Kong, has been picked up by One FC, a promotion looking to dominate not just the country's regional circuit, but the entire MMA scene in Asia.

The fighter nicknamed as 'The Magician', is already one of the most popular fighters from Hong Kong, making him a potential headliner for future shows in the country. Although he only has 4 professional fights, what makes him such a coveted prospect in the region, is that he has already faced and defeated some very experienced fighters from Europe.

Having success at an early stage of his career even made it harder to book fights for him though.

"I found it difficult to get match ups when I was living in the UK." Eddie Ng said in an interview with BloodyElbow.com, "I defeated 2 highly rated and much more experienced fighters for my first 2 professional bouts, it made it difficult in that the top guys didn't want to risk losing to someone that was 2-0 then on the other side, similarly experienced guys didn't want to fight as they felt outmatched."

Ng, who was raised in the UK, won the Total Combat welterweight title and has displayed a very dangerous ground game as well. What makes it even more impressive though, is that he accomplished all this by just being self-taught in BJJ.