The Wrestling Backfire: Thoughts On WWE’s Future “Blockbusterâ€￾ Summer Idea

• Welcome to "The New" Wrestling Smarks Forum!

I see that you are not currently registered on our forum. It only takes a second, and you can even login with your Facebook! If you would like to register now, pease click here: Register

Once registered please introduce yourself in our introduction thread which can be found here: Introduction Board

KyleFitta

Reaction score
If you realize who I am, great! If not, I will introduce myself. I am a former writer for 411mania, Examiner, Wrestling Truth, and a bunch of other wrestling sites that I cannot even remember. Currently, I have a weekly column on Mondays and review Impact live on Thursdays at Inside Pulse. And if you haven't figured out my name is by screen name yet, it's Kyle Fitta. Enough of the boring stuff. Now onto the more interesting stuff......

The Wrestling Observer Newsletter is reporting WWE creative is working on a major angle for the summer. Reportedly, they are working on coming up with a “knocks your socks off” storyline similar to how the Nexus angle captured attention in 2010 and CM Punk did in 2011. There is a lot of pressure to come up with something because of the low ratings and current product.

Before we get started, I think we must be able to construe what a blockbuster means. Of course, many people will have contrasting presumptions of what one may be; some may believe that Big Johnny/John Cena was already a blockbuster angle, while others may believe that CM Punk’s angle last year wasn’t even one. To me, a blockbuster angle would be something that’s astonishing and sustains a widespread of attention. For example, last year’s CM Punk anti-WWE promo. It was catastrophic and received a lot of mainstream attention from it. Even Colin Cowherd, an ESPN journalist that isn’t fond of professional wrestling, admitted the promo was well-said, giving it the attention it deserved.