Professional Wrestling as a sport

• Welcome to "The New" Wrestling Smarks Forum!

I see that you are not currently registered on our forum. It only takes a second, and you can even login with your Facebook! If you would like to register now, pease click here: Register

Once registered please introduce yourself in our introduction thread which can be found here: Introduction Board

wilsonblake556

Reaction score
Hi there. I'm new to this and I'm wondering if a lot of people treat professional wrestling as a sport. Now forget WWE and TNA. I'm talking about Ring of Honor, Pro Wrestling NOAH and other Japanese promotions.

I treat all of the matches in these promotions as a pure sport. When I watch TNA or WWE I treat it as entertainment. Or 'sports entertainment'. (I hate that word!) lol.

I'm just wondering if anyone else agrees with me on this. If not feel free to speak to me about your opinions.

Cheers, Sean.

Enigma22

Reaction score
its more entertainment to me... i usually just watch raw anyways...

CenaMark54

WTF...How is Ring of Honor any different from WWE or TNA?

Anyway, I don't consider pro wrestling a sport. It requires athletism and physical exertion, but it is by no means competitive.

Lets look at a definition of the word sport; "An activity involving physical exertion and skill that is governed by a set of rules or customs and often undertaken competitively."

Its not competitve and the rules are fake. Dancing with the Stars would be considered more of a sport than Pro wrestling regardless of what type of promotion.

Its strictly entertainment. Lets just say there is a movie about sports. Slap Shot for example; that movie is not a sport. Its just a bunch of guys acting out a script. Sure they are all athletic and most play hockey in real life, but it is not a sport, its a movie. I see wrestling the same way.

chessarmy